The Integral Model

  • The upper-left quadrant represents the individual interior, encompassing the rich and deep inner world of personal experiences, emotions, and consciousness. This domain is characterized by the 'I' perspective, where subjective experiences, including thoughts, dreams, emotional states, and spiritual experiences, reside. It also encompasses various states of consciousness, including waking, dreaming, and deep sleep states, reflecting the multi-dimensional nature of human awareness. 

    In this quadrant, the cognitive development of an individual over their lifespan, their views and values, and personal psychological health and well-being are central themes. It's the quadrant that explores the depth of personal intuition, individual values, and the phenomenological aspect of human existence, where each person navigates their unique subjective realities, shaped by personal history, culture, and individual temperament.

    This quadrant underscores the importance of introspection, self-reflection, and personal growth, encouraging individuals to delve into their inner worlds to foster self-awareness and personal transformation.
  • Stages of development in this quadrant can include cognitive development, emotional maturity, and spiritual growth.
  • 2
    States in the UL quadrant can range from ordinary waking consciousness to various altered states, meditative states, and mystical states.
  • 2
    Developmental lines or intelligences in this quadrant can include cognitive, emotional, moral, and spiritual intelligences.
  • Typologies in the UL quadrant can include personality types, like the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, and enneagram types.
  • The upper-right quadrant delves into the individual exterior, illustrating the objective, observable aspects of an individual, represented through the 'It' perspective. This quadrant houses the physical and physiological dimensions of a person, including their bodily states, brain states, and behavioral patterns.

    It is in this quadrant that we explore the biological basis of experiences, including the neurochemical processes that underpin emotions and consciousness. Scientific investigations into individual behavior, including psychological studies and neuroscientific research, primarily focus on this quadrant. It offers a framework where individual health, physical development, and the impact of genetics and biology on personal experiences are understood.

    The UR quadrant stands as the realm where the individual interacts with the external world through sensory experiences, and where empirical, objective analyses of individual phenomena are conducted, facilitating a grounded understanding of the human organism from a scientific perspective.
  • Stages of development in this quadrant can include physical growth and development, skill acquisition, and behavioral changes.
  • 3
    States in the UR quadrant can include things like physical states (solid, liquid, gas, etc.), brain states (alpha, delta, gamma, etc.), and metabolic states
  • 2
    Developmental lines in this quadrant can include physical fitness, motor skills, and other skills or abilities that can be objectively measured.
  • Typologies in the UR quadrant can include classifications of physical health, fitness levels, and types of skills or abilities.
  • The lower-left quadrant, representing the collective interior, embodies the shared experiences, cultures, and values that shape communities and societies, epitomizing the 'We' perspective. It is a domain where collective consciousness emerges, a space brimming with shared histories, linguistic norms, moral values, and the subtle unwritten rules that govern group dynamics.

    This quadrant reflects the cultural ethos, the shared stories, myths, and narratives that bind people together in cultures and communities. Here we find collective moods, societal attitudes, and the rich tapestry of shared symbolic languages that facilitate understanding and cohesion in groups. We can also find powerful collective states in this quadrant, such as states of mass hysteria, ontological shock, collective trauma, and social solidarity.

    The LL quadrant houses the spirit of the times or the 'Zeitgeist,' reflecting the prevailing worldviews, philosophies, and cultural movements that characterize different historical periods. It is a realm of collective introspection, where societies engage in self-reflection to foster growth, healing, and shared understanding, nurturing the deep bonds of community and the shared pursuit of collective goals and visions.

  • 2
    Stages of development in this quadrant can include cultural evolution, societal development, and changes in group values or ethics.
  • States in the LL quadrant refer to shared collective states, such as fads, cultural moods, societal attitudes, or collective consciousness.
  • Developmental lines or intelligences in this quadrant can include cultural development, societal progress, and evolution of group values.

  • Typologies in the LL quadrant can include cultural types, generational types, and group identities.
  • The lower-right quadrant encapsulates the collective exterior, representing the physical, social, and systemic structures that govern societies, illustrated through the 'Its' perspective. This quadrant is the realm of socio-economic systems, governmental structures, and technological frameworks that shape the collective external reality. It includes various states arising from systems theory, such as homeostasis and emergence, reflecting the dynamics of complex systems. Here we find the exploration of economic states, such as booms and recessions, and political states, reflecting the stability or instability of governmental structures.

    The LR quadrant also delves into environmental states, including weather patterns and ecological dynamics, highlighting the intricate interplay between human societies and the natural world. It is a space where the infrastructural and organizational facets of societies are analyzed, offering insights into the functioning of educational systems, health systems, and technological advancements that shape the collective external reality.

    This quadrant emphasizes the importance of harmony in external systems, encouraging a balanced and sustainable approach to societal development and environmental stewardship.
  • Stages of development in this quadrant can include technological progress, evolution of social systems, and changes in societal structures.
  • 3
    States in the LR quadrant are observable systemic states, such as economic conditions, political systems, and social structures.
  • Developmental lines in this quadrant often refer to the sorts of social institutions that have emerged in order to express or sustain the multiple intelligences we find in the other quadrants.
  • Typologies in the LR quadrant can include economic systems, political structures, and technological classifications.

Don’t miss the bigger picture

Leaders on Context are the first to turn complexity into clarity

Join Context Today